Dr. Blanck to present at 2015 Jacobus tenBroek Disability Law Symposium

January 21, 2015

The ADA at Fifty: The Future of Disability Law and the Right to Live in the World

National Federation of the Blind Jernigan Institute

Baltimore, Maryland | March 26-27, 2015

Join leading disability rights advocates from throughout the United States in celebration of the Americans with Disabilities Act by looking ahead to the next twenty-five years. The 2015 Jacobus tenBroek Disability Law Symposium will consist of plenary sessions and workshops facilitated by distinguished law professors, practitioners, and advocates who will discuss topics such as: the future of disability, how to enable the participation of people with disabilities in court proceedings, the unique challenges faced by criminal suspects and offenders with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and a vision for the next twenty-five years to improve and augment the ADA, Rehabilitation Act, and IDEA.


  • Peter Blanck, University Professor and Chairman, Burton Blatt Institute, Syracuse University
  • Chief Judge Richard S. Brown, Wisconsin Court of Appeals
  • Leigh Ann Davis, Program Manager, National Center on Criminal Justice and Disability, The Arc
  • Robert Dinerstein, Professor of Law, American University Washington College of Law
  • David Ferleger, Esquire, Law Office of David Ferleger
  • Beverly Frantz, Criminal Justice and Sexuality Project Director, Institute on Disabilities, Temple University
  • Daniel F. Goldstein, Partner, Brown, Goldstein and Levy
  • Christine M. Griffin, Executive Director, Disability Law Center of Massachusetts
  • Arlene S. Kanter; Bond, Schoeneck, and King Distinguished Professor; Syracuse University College of Law
  • Marc Maurer, Immediate Past President, National Federation of the Blind
  • Arlene B. Mayerson, Directing Attorney, Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund
  • Ari Ne'eman, Co-founder and President, Autistic Self Advocacy Network
  • Laurence Paradis, Executive Director and Co-director of Litigation, Disability Rights Advocates
  • Mark Riccobono, President, National Federation of the Blind
  • Howard A. Rosenblum, Chief Executive Officer, National Association of the Deaf
  • Fredric K. Schroeder, Research Professor, San Diego State University Research Foundation; First Vice President, World Blind Union
  • Anita Silvers, Professor and Chair of Philosophy, San Francisco State University
  • Christopher Slobogin; Milton R. Underwood Chair in Law; Director, Criminal Justice Program, Vanderbilt University Law School; Affiliate Professor of Psychiatry; Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
  • Judge Richard B. Teitelman, Supreme Court of Missouri
  • Kathryn Walker, Criminal Justice Fellow, The Arc
  • Michael Waterstone, Visiting Professor of Law, Northwestern University School of Law; J. Howard Ziemann Fellow and Professor of Law, Loyola Law School Los Angeles


Registration fee: $175
Student registration fee: $25

You may also download from the symposium website a registration form to mail or fax. Documentation for CLE credits will be provided.


To view the agenda, or for more information about the symposium, hotel accommodations, and symposium sponsorship opportunities, please visit https://nfb.org/law-symposium.


Lou Ann Blake, JD
Law Symposium Coordinator
Jernigan Institute
National Federation of the Blind
200 East Wells Street
at Jernigan Place
Baltimore, Maryland 21230
Email: lblake@nfb.org